web header ENG


 img vid2016 ENG


The Award Ceremony took place on 27 October 2016 in the City of Mexico, hosted by Dr. Miguel Ángel Mancera, Chief
Minister of the City of Mexico; Eduardo Vázquez Martín, Federal District Secretary on Culture for Mexico City and President
of the International Jury and Ing. Cuauhtémoc Cárdenas Solórzano, General Coordinator for International Affairs of the City of
Mexico; and with the presence of the winners of the 2nd edition of the Award: Mr. Ousmane Hallé, Mayor of the City of
Timbuktu (Mali); Mr. Guy Pilon, Mayor of the City of Vaudreuil-Dorion (Québec, Canada); Mr. Jon Hawkes; and Mrs. Silvia
Rivera Cusicanqui. 

You can find here all the information and programme of the Ceremony:

img entrega2016 ENG

The winners of the 2nd edition of the International Award UCLG - MEXICO CITY - Culture 21 are:

fletxa   CITY/LOCAL OR REGIONAL GOVERNMENT: Timbuktu (Mali) and Vaudreuil-Dorion (Quebec, Canada).

fletxa   INDIVIDUAL: Jon Hawkes and Silvia Rivera Cusicanqui



The objective of the "International Award UCLG – MEXICO CITY – Culture 21" is to recognise leading cities and individuals
that have distinguished themselves through their contribution to culture as a key dimension in sustainable cities.

The "International Award UCLG – MEXICO CITY – Culture 21" has two categories: the City / Local or Regional Government Award,
which recognises a city, local or regional government the cultural policy of which has contributed significantly to linking the values
of culture (heritage, diversity, creativity and transmission of knowledge) with democratic governance, citizen participation and
sustainable development, and the Individual Award, which recognises an internationally renowned individual who has made a
funda­mental contribution to the relationship between culture and sustainable development.

Read the Rules of the Award


5 December 2015 ı Launch of the Call.
15 March 2016 ı Deadline for submission of applications.
May 2016 ı Selection of winners.
27 May 2016 ı Announcement of the winners.
Late 2016 ı Awards ceremony in Mexico City.